• Home
  • bullmoose
  • Town of Fort Fairfield
  • Potato Harvest In Fort Fairfield
  • northernlights
  • Town of Fort Fairfield
  • hay
  • SunsetSilo
  • slide-8
  • slide-9
  • slide-10
  • slide-11
  • serenity
  • slide-1
  • Town of Fort Fairfield
  • Potato Harvest In Fort Fairfield
  • Santa
  • Town of Fort Fairfield
  • slide-6
  • slide-7
  • slide-8
  • slide-9
  • slide-10
  • slide-11
  • slide-12
  • slide 2m

ANNOUNCEMENT: There will be a Ribbon Cutting & Tree Lighting Ceremony held at the Fort Fairfield Community Bandstand on Sunday, December 3 At 4PM

The Code Enforcement Officer manages the development of the Town of Fort Fairfield by utilizing the adopted ordinances, codes and statutes of the municipality and the state. The Code Enforcement Officer is responsible for administrative and techinical work in carrying out land use, building and plumbing permitting and inspections and securing compliance with the Town's ordinances, codes and zoning regulations.  This person is the Town's authorized Building Inspector, Plumbing Inspector, Shoreland Zoning Officer and Land Use Regulator


The Town code enforcement officer is responsible for issuing building, development, plumbing and demolition permits; conducting building, land use and plumbing inspections; enforcing municipal zoning ordinances, municipal building codes, the municipal floodplain management ordinance and certain specific State adopted Codes and Laws.  This person maintains liaison with appropriate state and local agencies, and maintains departmental records and reports. Work is performed under the general supervision of the Town Manager with considerable independent judgement and discretion in accordance with applicable laws and ordinances.  Work is reviewed through reports, discussions and results achieved. 

2014 Code Enforcement Annual Report

Fort Fairfield Zoning Ordinance

2014 Urban Zoning Map

2014 Rural Zoning Map

Town of Fort Fairfield Comprehensive Plan

For More Information, Please contact:

Code Enforcement Officer:
Richard A. (Tony) Levesque, Jr. (207) 472-3805
Hours of Operation: Monday - Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm

Address: 18 Community Center Drive 

              Fort Fairfield, ME 04742

Tax Assessor: Richard A. (Tony) Levesque, Jr. (CMA#462) 

Contact: tlevesque@fortfairfield.org

           Phone: (207) 472-3805

            Fax: (207) 472-3801

Automobile Registration - Rapid Renewal

Fast, easy, convenient - we now offer residents the opportunity to renew your vehicle registration online with Rapid Renewal.

Rapid Renewal is a new service that makes it possible for you to renew your motor vehicle registration with the State of Maine and to pay your local excise tax to the Town of Fort Fairfield in one simple online transaction.

To get started, click the Rapid Renewal icon below.

Town Office

Contact Information:
Fort Fairfield Town Office
18 Community Center Drive
Fort Fairfield, ME 04742 (207) 472-3800
(207) 472-3810 fax

Town Manager: Jim Risner
Town Manager Annual Report
Town Manager Responsibilities
Town Tax Assessor: Richard A. Levesque - Town Tax Assessor’s Report
Town Code Enforcement Officer: Richard A. Levesque - Town Code Enforcement Year End Report
Marketing & Economic Director: Tim Goff
Town Clerk: Billie Jo Sharpe
Tax Collector: Ella Leighton
Registrar of Voters: Theresa Greenleaf

Town Office Hours
Day Hours
Monday 7:00 am to 4:30 pm
Tuesday 7:00 am to 4:30 pm
Wednesday 7:00 am to 4:30 pm
Thursday 7:00 am to 4:30 pm
Friday 7:00 am to 4:30 pm
Saturday-Sunday Closed
Holidays Closed


Requires Adobe AcrobatVoter Information
Requires Adobe AcrobatApplication for Birth, Marriage, & Death Records


Town of Fort Fairfield - Town Manager Responsibilities

The Town Manager is appointed by the Town Council and is responsible for administering the policies as established by the Town Council. The Manager serves as the chief administrative officer and head of the administrative branch of the Town Government. The duties include complete executive direction of the administrative services of the Town.

The administrative services of the Town are divided, under the Town Manager, into the following areas: Finance Department, Town Clerk's Office, Police Department, Fire Department, Recreation Department, Community Library, Public Works Department and Human Resources/General Assistance Department as well as a Community and Economic Development Department.

In addition to the day to day administrative responsibilities the Manager's office is also responsible for compiling and submitting the Municipal Budget to the Council. Once the Budget is adopted the Manager is responsible for the administration of the budget.


2017 2018
2015 2016
2013 2014
2011 2012


Requires Adobe AcrobatAll documents are in .pdf format. Adobe Acrobat Reader required.
Don't have Acrobat Reader? Download it for free from Adobe.com.





Jason Barnes
Term Expires 2018


Mitch Butler 
Term Expires 2019


Scott Smith
Term Expires 2018

Melissa Libby
Term Expires 2019
  John Herold
Term Expires 2017

Directory of Department Heads and Town Officials

Town Manager:

Jim Risner

Community Development Director:

Richard Levesque, Jr

Tax Assessor:

Richard Levesque, Jr.

Economic & Marketing Director:

Tim Goff

Executive Director Chamber of Commerce:

Tim Goff


Ella Leighton

Deputy Treasurer:

Billie Jo Sharp

Tax Collector:

Ella J. Leighton

Deputy Tax Collector:

Billie Jo Sharp

Town Clerk:

Billie Jo Sharp

Deputy Town Clerk:

Theresa Greenleaf

Deputy Registrar of Voters:

Billie Jo Sharp

Registrar of Voters:

Theresa Greenleaf

Fire Chief:

Vince Baldwin

Police Chief:

Shawn Newell



Dale Keegan

Reserve Officers:

Greg Alley-Violette
Stephanie Beaulieu
James J. Cerrato
David Lown
Reed Nonken


Shawn Newell

Health Officer:

Jim Risner

Emergency Management Director:

Shawn Newell

Road Commissioner:

Darren Hanson

Public Works Director:

Darren Hanson

Code Enforcement Officer:

Richard Levesque, Jr.

EEO/ADA Coordinator:

Richard Levesque, Jr.

Building Inspector:

Richard Levesque, Jr

Plumbing Inspector:

Richard Levesque, Jr.

Electrical Inspector:

Todd Maynard

General Assistance Administrator:

Billie Jo Sharpe

Animal Control Officer:

Shawn Newell

Personnel Director: Ella Leighton

Recreation Director:

Thomas Towle

Director of 21st Century:  


Jennifer Gaenzle

Take the Town With You!

The Town of Fort Fairfield's new website is mobile friendly!  Access vital services and information, and stay up-to-date on events and meetings on your phone or mobile device.  Now, no matter where you are, the Town of Fort Fairfield is just a click away at www.fortfairfield.org 

Mobile Use